Stories Need a Place to Grow: Stephen King

Stephen King

Stephen King

“I won’t try to convince you that I’ve never plotted any more than I’d try to convince you that I’ve never told a lie, but I do both as infrequently as possible.

“I distrust plot for two reasons: first, because our lives are largely plotless, even when you add in all our reasonable precautions and careful planning; and second, because I believe plotting and the spontaneity of real creation aren’t compatible. …

“[M]y basic belief about the making of stories is that they largely make themselves. The job of the writer is to give them a place to grow.”

3 thoughts on “Stories Need a Place to Grow: Stephen King

  1. Pingback: Stories Need a Place to Grow: Stephen King | Meyer Lane’s Short Attention Span Press « Mixtape

  2. Even though I’m not sure I necessarily agree with his advice here, Stephen King has always had some of the best advice on writing. His “On Writing” helped me more than anything else as a writer.

Leave a Reply

