The Journal Concept: Madeleine L’Engle

Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L’Engle

“I have advice for people who want to write. I don’t care whether they’re 5 or 500. There are three things that are important: First, if you want to write, you need to keep an honest, unpublishable journal that nobody reads, nobody but you. Where you just put down what you think about life, what you think about things, what you think is fair and what you think is unfair. And second, you need to read. You can’t be a writer if you’re not a reader. It’s the great writers who teach us how to write. The third thing is to write. Just write a little bit every day. Even if it’s for only half an hour — write, write, write.”

 

From Wikipedia:

Madeleine L’Engle (November 29, 1918 – September 6, 2007) was an American writer best known for her young-adult fiction, particularly the Newbery Medal-winning A Wrinkle in Time and its sequels: A Wind in the Door, National Book Award-winning  A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time. Her works reflect both her Christian faith and her strong interest in modern science.

 

2 thoughts on “The Journal Concept: Madeleine L’Engle

  1. This is very similar to John Berendt’s Running Diary Concept. They are both very good ideas! In fact, this is how I started writing almost thirty years ago. Today, I use my poetry as my journal. This leads me into moments of clarity and ideas for larger works. Some die along the way or stay as thoughts shelved for later. Others get moved up into an active piece of work immediately as I am usually working on several projects at once. Short attention Span and all . . . 😉

    • “I’ve never kept a journal but I read, read, read and I write, write, write with ideas and thoughts for another storyline written down; stored inside a two-drawer filing cabinet just waiting for their day to be heard.” Madeleine L’Engle’s book “A Wrinkle in Time” was one of my daughter’s favorites when she was twelve years old. Just picking up my copy of this book right now I flip to the appreciation page written by Anna Quindlen and the first sentences read: ”The most memorable books from our childhoods are those that make us feel less alone, convince us that our own foibles and quirks are both as individual as a fingerprint and as universal as an open hand. That’s why I still have the copy of ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ that was given to me when I was twelve years old”…

Leave a Reply

