Tough Noodgies: An Interview Excerpt with Dave Eddings

Dave Eddings

Dave Eddings

What advice would you give a younger David Eddings concerning his writing career? Looking back, would you have done anything differently?

I think a passage from “THE RIVAN CODEX” (a non-fiction book) should give you an answer:

This is what I was talking about earlier when I suggested most aspiring fantasists will lose heart fairly early on. I was in my mid-teens when I discovered that I was a writer. Notice that I didn’t say “wanted to be a writer.” “Want” has almost nothing to do with it. It’s either there or it isn’t. If you happen to be one, you’re stuck with it. You’ll write whether you get paid for it or not. You won’t be able to help yourself. When it’s going well, it’s like reaching up into heaven and pulling down fire. It’s better than any dope you can buy. When it’s not going well, it’s much like giving birth to a baby elephant. You’ll probably notice the time lapse. I was forty before I wrote a publishable book. A twenty-five year long apprenticeship doesn’t appeal to very many people.

What do you feel is your strength as a writer/storyteller?

Characters. My people are as real as I can make them.

After producing all those bestsellers and selling millions of copies worldwide, is there added pressure when it comes to writing new series/novels, knowing that the expectations will always be high?

I’m not an egomaniac. I’ll write what I want to write. If the readers don’t like it, tough noodgies.

 

From Wikipedia:

David Eddings (July 7, 1931 – June 2, 2009[1]) was an American author who wrote several best-selling series of epic fantasy novels.

The Belgariad is Eddings’ first fantasy series; The Malloreon is the sequel. The books follow the adventures of Belgarion, Polgara, Belgarath, and their companions.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tough Noodgies: An Interview Excerpt with Dave Eddings

  1. Notice that I didn’t say “wanted to be a writer.” “Want” has almost nothing to do with it. It’s either there or it isn’t.

    Totally resonates with me! You have a great site – thanks for sharing all this amazing information.

Leave a Reply

