On What Gets and Keeps Michael Connelly Writing

 

Michael Connelly

Michael Connelly

Q: What is your method for overcoming writer’s block?
A: The battering ram. What I mean by that is rewriting. I back up into the pages I have already written and start rewriting and moving forward. It usually helps me gather momentum that takes me through the block like a battering ram.

Q: What are your favorite or most helpful writing prompts?
A: My answer to everything is probably rewriting. It seems to me to be the key to everything. I usually start each day by reading and editing what I wrote the day before. I, then, enter the fixes and rewrites and this seems to get me going.

Q: What is the most valuable advice you received as a young writer?
A: From an interview I read with Kurt Vonnegut: Make sure that on every page every character wants something, even if it is only a drink of water.

 

From Wikipedia:

Michael Connelly (born July 21, 1956, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) is an American author of detective novels and other crime fiction, notably those featuring LAPD Detective Hieronymus “Harry” Bosch and criminal defense attorney Mickey Haller. His books, which have been translated into 36 languages, have garnered him many awards. Connelly was the President of the Mystery Writers of America from 2003 to 2004.

Connelly has won every major award given to mystery writers, including the Edgar Award,Anthony Award, Macavity Award, Los Angeles Times Best Mystery/Thriller Award,Shamus Award,Dilys Award,Nero Award, Barry Award,Audie Award, Ridley Award, Maltese Falcon Award (Japan), .38 Caliber Award (France), Grand Prix Award (France) and Premio Bancarella Award (Italy). His 2005 novel The Lincoln Lawyer was made into a major motion picture. His latest novel is The Black Box (2012).

Leave a Reply

