10 Tips on Writing from Ernest Hemingway

1. Know, but don’t write everything you know
“…you could omit anything if you knew that you omitted and the omitted part would strengthen the story and make people feel something more than they understood.”

2. Be in Love
“It was necessary to get exercise, to be tired in the body, and it was very good to make love with whom you loved. That was better than anything.”

3. Truly, Honestly
“I would stand and look out over the roofs of Paris and think, ‘Do not worry. You have always written before and you will write now. All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.”

4. Know How to Set Aside Your Work
“I learned not to think about anything that I was writing from the time I stopped writing until I started again the next day. That way my subconscious would be working on it and at the same time I would be listening to other people and noticing everything, I hoped.”

5. Never Overestimate Simplicity
‘Go on, then,’ Pascin said. ‘And don’t fall in love with typewriting paper.’
‘If I do, I’ll write with a pencil.’

6. Keep Track of Daily Progress
Strange there seems to be two schools of thought that differ so much, but bring equal success to authors alike. Some depend heavily on the process, others on primarily the flow. Me? I’m subscribe to the flow school of writing.

7. Actually Enjoy the Process
**As I believe Charles Bukowski would say…If you don’t enjoy the process, you are not a writer.

8. Stand While Writing
**Strange habit, huh?

9. Don’t Discuss the Creative Process
“I showed the story to him as a curiosity, as you might show, stupidly, the binnacle of a ship you had just lost in some incredible way, or as you might pick up your booted foot and make some joke about it if it had been amputated after a crash.”

10. Write in the Morning Glory
** Sorry Hem, I’m allergic to early morning sunlight.
😉

One thought on “10 Tips on Writing from Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

