How Dave Barry Writes

Dave Barry

Dave Barry

Why: The most logical profession for me, based on my natural gifts, would be male underwear model. But I’ve always loved to write, because it gives me a chance to express my ideas. Unfortunately, I ran out of ideas in 1987, but by then I’d been a writer for 15 years and had no useful skills. So here I am.

Where: I write in an office in my home. My desk is a few feet from that of my wife, Michelle, a sportswriter who also works mostly at home. We can hear each other chewing.

How: I use a computer. Unfortunately, this computer also has the Internet on it, so I spend a lot of time looking at sites that have nothing to do with what I am allegedly writing about.

Ideas: I scrawl notes when I think of something. My house has scrawled notes all over. They say things like “snail rocket,” and when I look at them later on, they serve as a reminder to me that when I wrote them down, I had consumed a lot of beer. So I throw them away and go into a state of panicky despair and then write a column. Panicky despair is an underrated element of writing.

Influences: Robert Benchley is my idol. I’ve been reading him since I was a kid, and still return to his essays regularly for inspiration. My mom was pretty funny, too.

Writer’s block: I believe “writer’s block” is the normal state of writing; that is, you rarely have anything just flow easily from your brain to the keyboard. And if it does, it’s usually pretty bad. Good writing is almost always hard, and what I think sometimes happens is that writers forget how hard it is, or don’t want to do the work anymore, and they call this “writer’s block.”

Writing novels vs. columns: The hard part of novel-writing is the plot; you have to make so many decisions, and each can affect what can and can’t happen later. So I had to do a whole lot more planning than when I write columns, and planning is not one of my strengths, the way underwear modeling is. What I liked best about the novel was making up characters, and watching them develop and turn into people whom I did not totally control.

The challenge of humor writing: Overcoming the fear that whatever you think is funny really isn’t.

Advice to writers: Don’t be boring. Don’t assume every thought you have is fascinating to others. Your job is to give people a reason to keep reading.

From Wikipedia:

David “Dave” Barry (born July 3, 1947) is a Pulitzer Prize-winning American author and columnist, who wrote a nationally syndicated humor column for The Miami Herald from 1983 to 2005. He has also written numerous books of humor and parody, as well as comedic novels.

6 thoughts on “How Dave Barry Writes

  1. Robert Benchley may be his idol, but Dave Barry is MINE. I love him. I would love him modeling underwear, too, I’m sure, but probably only if he was doing it at his desk, while writing something that would make me snort Earl Grey on my keyboard. Thanks for this one!

  2. Sending this one along to a high school junior who has written a promising 600 page horror novel of which I am the only reader. He waits breathlessly with high anxiety for any email from me and I do what I can to progress through his fine effort slowed as I am by so many essays to work through for classes and my own writing and personal reading. So I have asked said young writer to work another project (which he has begun) while reading what other writers have to say about writing, such as this Berry piece which contains the elements of commitment and perspective all artists must wrassle with in the mud and the blood and the tedium. Thanks again for sharing your wealth.

  3. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 04/24/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

